Skip to main content

Declaration on Gender-Responsive Standards and Standards Development


The declaration is the result of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.
The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 
Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6). The secretariat will prepare a formatted declaration and send to be signed. You are asked to share a photo or a short video of your signing. If you are able to come to Geneva to sign, we may be able to organize a small signing ceremony.

Declaration for "Gender-Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of November 2023
Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found
Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Member States SDOs
Albania - General Directorate of Standardization France - Association Française de Normalisation (AFNOR) Madagascar - Bureau des Normes de Madagascar Saint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of Standards
Argentina - Instituto Argentino de Normalización y Certificación Gambia - The Gambia Standards Bureau Mali - Agence Malienne de Normalisation et de Promotion de la Qualité El Salvador - Organismo Salvadoreño de Normalización
Australia - Standards Australia Georgia - Georgian National Agency for Standards and Metrology Malta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority Senegal - Association Sénégalaise de Normalisation
Austria - Austrian Standards International Germany - Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik (DKE) Mauritius - Mauritius Standards Bureau Serbia - Institute for Standardization of Serbia
Benin - Agence nationale de  Normalisation, de Métrologie et du Contrôle Qualité Germany - Deutsches Institut für Normung Mexico -Dirección General de Normas South Africa - South African Bureau of Standards
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y Calidad Honduras - Organismo Hondureño de Normalización Moldova - Institute for Standardization of Moldova Spain - Asociación Española de Normalización
Bosnia and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia and Herzegovina Iceland - Icelandic Standards Montenegro - Institute for Standardization of Montenegro Sweden - Swedish Institute for Standards
Botswana - Botswana Bureau of Standards India - Bureau of Indian Standards Morocco - Institut Marocain de Normalisation Switzerland - Swiss Association for Standardization
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT) Ireland - National Standards Authority of Ireland Mozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e Qualidade Thailand - Thai Industrial Standards Institute
Cameroon - Agence des Normes et de la Qualité Israel - Standards Institute of Israel Netherlands - Netherlands Standardization Institute Togo - Agence Togolaise de Normalisation
Canada - Standards Council of Canada Italy - Comitato Elettrotecnico Italiano New Zealand - New Zealand Standards Organisation Trinidad and Tobago - Bureau of Standards
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y Certificación Italy - Ente Italiano di Normazione New Zealand - New Zealand IEC National Committee Türkiye - Türk Standardlari Enstitüsü
Congo - Office Congolais de Contrôle Kazakhstan - KazStandard Norway - Standards Norway United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards Institution
Costa Rica - Instituto de Normas Técnicas Kyrgyzstan - Kyrgyzstandart Papua New Guinea - National Institute of Standards and Industrial Technology Uruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas Técnicas
Cyprus - Organisation for Standardisation Latvia - Latvian Standard Peru - Instituto Nacional de Calidad  
Denmark - Danish Standards Lesotho - Lesotho Standards Institution Portugal - Instituto Português da Qualidade  
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la Calidad Lithuania - Lithuanian Standards Board Rwanda Standards Board  
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de Normalización Luxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et services Saint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of Standard  
International and regional SDOs
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
African Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
ASTM International
Comisión Panamericana de Normas Técnicas (COPANT)
European Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
Fairtrade International
The Gold Standard
Rainforest Alliance
Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Round Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
The Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
UL Standards & Engagement (ULSE)
Women Organizing for Change in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management (WOCAN)
Last update date: November 16, 2023