Skip to main content




The United Nations Special Programme for the Economies of Central Asia (SPECA) was launched in 1998 to strengthen subregional cooperation in Central Asia and its integration into the world economy.

The countries of SPECA are Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) and the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) jointly provide overall support to the Programme.

More information

In focus

The 2018 UNOSSC publication Good Practices in South-South and Triangular Cooperation for Sustainable Development includes good practice examples within the framework of the SPECA activities to achieve the Goals and Targets of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.