Skip to main content

Eighty-first Session of the Inland Transport Committee (ITC) of the UNECE

On 19-22 February 2019, the Inland Transport Committee convened its 81st annual session. This year’s policy segment was devoted to “Automation in Transport”, building on the Committee’s past achievements, current performance and future path, while highlighting the added value and future potential of automation.
In his opening speech, the Special Envoy emphasized the importance of a well-coordinated approach to advancing global road safety and highlighted the upcoming Ministerial conference, which will be hosted by Sweden in 2020, encouraging Member States’ participation at the highest level. Speaking about the automation in transport, the Special Envoy underlined the importance of avoiding premature solutions and encouraged a coherent approach to ensuring that innovation and technology effectively contribute to improving road safety, including in low-income countries. 
On the margins of the ITC session, the Special Envoy had bilateral meetings with a number of high-level government officials and relevant stakeholders, calling for increased attention and national-level investments to the issue as well as encouraging accession to United Nations road safety conventions. Meetings with the following officials took place during the event:
  • Ms. Cora van Nieuwenhuizen, Minister Infrastructure and Water Management, Netherlands
  • Mr. Abdullah Li’Eibi Bahidh, Minister of Transport, Iraq
  • Mr. Volodymyr Omelyan, Minister for Infrastructure, Ukraine
  • Dr. Abdullah Belheif Al Nuaimi, Minister of Infrastructure Development, United Arab Emirates
  • Mr. Bounchanh Sinthavong, Minister of Public Works and Transport, Lao PDR
  • Mr. Guangzhe Chen, Senior Director, Transport Global Practice, World Bank
  • EuroMed Transport Support Project (EuroMed TSP) Delegation composed of the following delegates:
    • Ambassador Mahmoud Allam, Ministry of Transport, Egypt
    • Mr. Ali Al Masri, Ministry of Public Works and Transport, Lebanon
    • Mrs. Zahraa Ouacifi, Ministry of Transport, Morocco
    • Mr. Zahi Muhammad Al Saad Banisaid, Ministry of Transport, Jordan
    • Mr Ammar Yassin, Deputy Minister
    • Ministry of Transport of Palestine
    • Mr. Sassi Hammami, Ministry of Transport, Tunisia
    • Ms. Rim Zaabar, Ministry of Transport, Tunisia
    • Mr. Michalis Adamantiadis, Team Leade, EuroMed TSP