Skip to main content

United Nations Coordination Meeting for Road Safety

On 5 April, the Special Envoy for Road Safety convened a meeting with representatives from 14 United Nations agencies and departments to highlight the importance of road safety in the 2030 Sustainable Development agenda. The meeting was an opportunity to share current and future road safety efforts and priorities within each UN agency and to explore potential opportunities for collaboration. The meeting discussed the following potential areas of collaboration: awareness raising initiatives, strengthening of internal UN road safety policies with operational agencies and engagement towards a UN road safety fund. Following the Coordination meeting, the Special Envoy and UNECE have held follow-up communication with UNDP, UNOPS, and UNICEF regarding potential opportunities for future collaboration. The Inter-agency Security Management Network (IASMN) held their first meeting following the Special Envoy’s request of UNDSS participation at the Coordination meeting.


Full attendees' list (by alphabetical order):
•    International Labour Office - ILO
      - Ms. Alejandra Cruz Ross , Technical Officer

•    International Telecommunication Union – ITU
      - Dr. Reinhard Scholl, Deputy Director, Telecommunication Standardization Bureau

•    Economic Commission for Africa – ECA (represented by UNECE)

•    Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean – ECLAC (represented by UNECE)

•    Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific - ESCAP (represented by UNECE)

•    Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia – ESCWA (represented by UNECE)

•    Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights - OHCHR
      - Mr. Zeid Ra’ad Al-Hussein, United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights
      - Ms. Lynn Gentile, Human Rights Officer

•    United Nations Conference on Trade and Development - UNCTAD
      - Ms. Regina Asariotis, Chief, Policy and Legislation Section, Division on Technology and Logistics

•    United Nations Development Programme - UNDP
      - Mr. Michael O’Neill , Assistant Administrator and Director of the Bureau of External Relations and Advocacy
      - Mr. Alexis Laffittan, Partnerships Specialist

•    United Nations Department of Safety and Security - UNDSS
      - Ms. Fadzai Gwaradzimba, Assistant Secretary General

•    United Nations Economic Commission for Europe - UNECE
      - Mr. Christian Friis Bach, Executive Secretary
      - Ms. Eva Molnar, Director, Sustainable Transport Division
      - Mr. Miodrag Pesut, Chief, Transportation Facilitation and Economics Section
      - Ms. Priti Gautam, Programme Management Officer
      - Mr. Edoardo Gianotti, Economic Affairs Officer

•    United Nations High Commissioner for Human Refugees – UNHCR
      - Mr. Michael Dell’Amico, Head, Field Security Service
      - Dr. Andrea Ferrari Romero, Chief, Medical Service
      - Ms. Sinead O’Donovan, Head Nurse, Medical Service

•    United Nations International Children’s Emergency Fund - UNICEF
      - Ms. Marilena Viviani, Director, Public Partnerships Division, UNICEF Geneva Liaison Office

•    United Nations Institute for Training and Research - UNITAR
      - Mr. Nikhil Seth, Executive Director

•    United Nations Office for Project Services – UNOPS
      - Mr. Mukul Bhola, UNOPS Partnerships Development Advisor
      - Mr. Guillaume Lemenez, Legal Officer

•    Universal Postal Union - UPU
      - Mr. Tripp Brinkley, Postal Security Programme Manager

•    World Food Programme – WFP
      - Mr. Adrian Van Der Knaap, Chief, Logistics and Transport Services

•    World Health Organization – WHO
      - Dr. Oleg Chestnov, Assistant Director-General, Noncommunicable Diseases and Mental Health
      - Dr. Margie Peden, Coordinator, Unintentional Injury Prevention Management of Noncommunicable Diseases Disability, Violence and Injury Prevention