Skip to main content

Governance and organizational structure

Governing Bodies




United Nations Economic Commission for Europe and Executive Committee


Mr. Boris RICHARD, Minister/Deputy Permanent Representative to the WTO and EFTA (Switzerland) 


H.E. Ms. Desiree SCHWEITZER , Ambassador (Austria) 

H.E. Mr. Slavica MILAČIĆ, Ambassador (Montenegro)


Sectoral Committees


Committee on Environmental Policy  


Ms. Elisabete QUINTAS DA SILVA (Cohesion and Development Agency, Portugal)


Ms. Larissa LUKINA (Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection, Belarus)

Mr. Matthias DE MOOR (Department of Environment and Spatial Development, Belgium)

Mr. Kaupo HEINMA (Ministry of Environment, Estonia)

Ms. Nino TKHILAVA (Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection, Georgia)

Mr. Michael BASS (Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety, Germany)

NB: The Bureau member to be nominated by the country (Kazakhstan)

Ms. Maria NAGORNII (Ministry of Agriculture, Regional Development and Environment, Republic of Moldova)

Mr. Nuritdin INAMOV (Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Russian Federation)

Ms. Biljana FILIPOVIC DUSIC (Ministry of Environmental Protection, Serbia)

Ms. Martine ROHN-BROSSARD (Swiss Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland)

Mr. Youssef ELKEI (Permanent Mission of the United States of America to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva, the United States of America)


Inland Transport Committee


Ms. Hannie MEESTERS (the Netherlands)

Vice- Chairpersons: 

Ms. Marie-Pierre MEGANCK (France)

Mr. Antonio ERARIO (Italy)

Mr. Jerzy KLENIEWSKI (Poland)

Mr. Roman SYMONENKO (Ukraine)



Mr. Kristof SCHOCKAERT (Belgium)

Mr. Philipp VON CARNAP-BORNHEIM (Germany)

Mr. Andreas FELDER (Switzerland)

Ms. Jane PETERS (United Kingdom)

Ms. Julie ABRAHAM (United States of America)

The European Commission has a standing invitation to attend sessions of the Bureau as observer.


Conference of European Statisticians  


Mr. Padraig DALTON (Central Statistics Office, Ireland)


Mr. Stepan MNATSAKANYAN (National Statistical Service, Republic of Armenia)

Mr. Anil ARORA (Statistics, Canada)

Mr. Julio SANTAELLA (National Institute of Statistics and Geography, Mexico)

Mr. Mark SOWDEN (Statistics, New Zealand)

Mr. Dominik ROZKRUT (Statistics, Poland)

Mr. Miladin KOVAČEVIC (Statistical Office, Republic of Serbia)

Mr. Ian DIAMOND (Office for National Statistics, United Kingdom)

Ms. Aija ZIGURE (Central Statistical Bureau, Latvia)

Observers to the CES Bureau:

Mr. Vladimir SOKOLIN (Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States)

Ms. Mariana KOTZEVA (EUROSTAT, Statistical Office of the European Union)

Mr. Louis Marc DUCHARME (IMF Statistics Department)

Mr. Paul SCHREYER (OECD Statistics and Data Directorate)

Mr. Stefan Schweinfest (United Nations Statistics Division)

Ms. Haishan FU (Development Data Group, World Bank)


Committee on Sustainable Energy 


Mr. Jürgen KEINHORST (Director, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection

, Germany)


Mr. Emir Farhadzada (Senior Advisor of Project Management and Legal Affairs, Division of Renewable Energy Agency, Ministry of Energy, Azerbaijan)

Mr. Admir Softic (Assistant Minister for Energy Sector, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations, Bosnia and Herzegovia)

Mr. Romeo Mikautadze (Deputy Minister, Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development, Georgia)

Dr. Chokan Laumulin (Professor, The Kazakh British Technical University (KBTU), Kazakhstan)

Mr. Pawel Pikus (Director, Energy and Gas Department, Ministry of Climate and Environment, Poland)

Mr. Jean-Christophe Füeg (Head of International Energy Affairs, Swiss Federal Office of Energy, Switzerland)

Mr. Farhod Bilolzoda (Deputy Minister, Industry and New Technologies, Tajikistan)

Mr. Yaroslav Demchenkov (Deputy Minister, Ministry of Energy, Ukraine)

Dr. Emily Grubert (Associate Professor of Sustainable Energy Policy, University of Notre Dame, United States)

Bureau Members ex officio (Chairpersons of the Subsidiary Bodies):

Expert Group on Resource Management

Mr. David MACDONALD (Independent Expert, UK)

Group of Experts on Cleaner Electricity System

Mr. Jim ROBB (Executive Director, President and Chief Executive Officer, North American Electric Reliability Corporation)

Group of Experts on Coal Mine Methane

Mr. Raymond C. PILCHER (President, Raven Ridge Resources, Inc.)

Group of Experts on Energy Efficiency

Mr. Stefan M. Buettner (Director, Global Strategy and Impact, Institute for Energy Efficiency in Production)

Group of Experts on Gas

Mr. Francisco DE LA FLOR GARCIA (Director de Regulación, ENAGAS S.A., Spain)

Group of Experts on Renewable Energy

Mr. Kostiantyn Gura (Acting Head, State Agency on Energy Efficiency and Energy Saving of Ukraine - SAEE)


Steering Committee on Trade Capacity and Standards


Ms. Damegul KABIYEVA, (Kazakhstan)


Mr. Dmitry DOROSHEVICH (Belarus)

Ms. Mariam GABUNIA (Georgia)

Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6)


Ms. Heidi LUND (Sweden)


Ms. Gabrielle WHITE (Canada)

Mr. Miroslav CHLOUPEK (Czechia)

Ms. Rosie SEVILLE (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

Working Party and Agricultural Quality Standards (WP.7)


Ms. Agnieszka SUDOL (Poland)


Committee on Forests and the Forest Industry


Mr. Peter BLOMBÄCK (Sweden)


Ms. Anita DEDIC (San Marino)

Ms. Maureen WHELAN (Canada)

Mr. Tomas KREJZAR (Czech Republic)



Committee on Urban Development, Housing and Land Management


Ms. Doris ANDONI (Albania)


Mr. Giampiero BAMBAGIONI (Italy)

Ms. Aša ROGELJ (Slovenia)


Ms. Marie MOHYLOVA (Czechia)

Mr. Tassos KRIEKOUKIS (Greece)



Ms. STEPHANIE FÜRER (Switzerland)

Ms. Paloma TALTAVULL DE LA PAZ (Spain) as an ex officio  

Mr. Fredrik ZETTERQUIST (Sweden) as an ex officio


Committee on Innovation, Competitiveness and Public-Private Partnerships (CICPPP)    


Mr. Stefano FIRPO (Italy)

Vice-Chairpersons (Elected for a two-year mandate)

Mr. Sergey Vladimirovich SHUBA (Belarus)

Ms. Annie VASHAKMADZE (Georgia) 

Mr. Nicolaus-Alejandro WEIL VON DER AHE (Germany)

Mr. George KATAPODIS (Greece) 

Mr. Medet DYUSSEMBAYEV (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chairperson (Elected for a one-year mandate)

Ms. Sedef YAVUZ NOYAN (Turkey)


Other Bodies

Standing Working Group on Ageing


Mr. Alfredo FERRANTE (Italy)


Mr. Martin AMBERGER (Germany)

Bureau Members:

Ms. Verena SCHRIEBL (Austria)

Ms. Ketevan GOGINASHVILI (Georgia)

Ms. Abigail CHANTLER (Ireland)

Mr. Edmundo MARTINHO (Portugal)

Mr. Manuel MONTERO REY (Spain)

Ms. Elmas Esra CECELI (Türkiye)


Ms. Heidrun MOLLENKOPF (Civil Society)

Mr. Kai LEICHSENRING (Research/Academia)


United Nations Centre for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business (UN/CEFACT)


Ms. Sue PROBERT (United Kingdom)


Mr. Ian WATT (Australia)

Mr. Marek LASKOWSKI (Canada)

Ms. Hanane BECHA (France)

Mr. Tahseen KHAN (India)

Ms. Liliana FRATINI PASSI (Italy)

Ms. Estelle IGWE (Nigeria)

Mr. Aleksei BONDARENKO (The Russian Federation)

Subsidiary Bodies:

Advisory Group on the United Nations Location Codes for Trade and Transport (UN/LOCODE)


Ms. Sue PROBERT (United Kingdom)

Vice-Chairperson & Convener of the Maintenance Team:

Ms. Maria Teresa CHAVARRI (Spain)


Team of Specialists on Sustainable Fisheries


Mr. Frans VAN DIEPEN (Netherlands)


Advisory Group on Advance Technologies on Trade and Logistics


Mr. Stefano QUINTARELLI (Italy)


Ms. Nena DOKUZOV (Slovenia)


(As of 22 June 2023)