Skip to main content

At regional/country level

Implementation of the GHS has been identified as one of the 11 basic elements recognized as critical at the national and regional levels to the attainment of sound chemicals and waste management. 

Aware of the importance of monitoring the GHS status of implementation worldwide, the secretariat collects information publicly available from various sources. These include reports from international organisations, United Nations institutes, programmes and specialized agencies, industry associations and information publicly available on the internet (press releases, articles etc), as well as information directly made available to the secretariat. The information collected is updated as resources and time allow.

For the purposes of the information provided hereafter “implemented” means that implementation of the GHS has been enacted through a legal instrument or is allowed on a voluntary basis, for at least one sector. The information has been divided in two blocks:

  • Implementation by region
  • Implementation by country

Governments and other stakeholders are invited to submit information on updates on the GHS status of implementation directly to the secretariat through the "Information submission form”. Of particular interest is information regarding references to legal instruments, codes or standards which have been adopted or amended to reflect the provisions of the GHS (including: date of application, transitional periods, publication details, details of the administrations responsible for their implementation, GHS hazard classes and categories implemented, etc).

Implementation by region

ANDEAN Community

Eurasian Economic Union

European Union and European Economic Area


Implementation by country

The document "GHS implementation by country" contains information on the status of implementation of the countries listed below (in alphabetical order). You will be able to find the information for each country use the bookmarks embedded in the document itself. 

  • Argentina Armenia Australia Austria
  • Belarus Belgium Bolivia Brazil Bulgaria
  • Cambodia Canada Chile China Colombia Costa Rica Côte d’Ivoire Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic
  • Democratic Republic of Congo Denmark
  • Ecuador Estonia
  • Finland France
  • Gambia Germany Ghana Greece Guatemala Guinea
  • Honduras Hungary
  • Iceland Indonesia Ireland Israel Italy
  • Japan Kazakhstan Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic Latvia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg
  • Madagascar Malaysia Malta Mauritius Mexico Montenegro Myanmar
  • Netherlands New Zealand Nigeria Norway
  • Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal
  • Republic of Korea Romania Russian Federation
  • Senegal Serbia Singapore Slovakia Slovenia South Africa Spain Sweden Switzerland
  • Thailand Tunisia Turkey
  • Ukraine United Kingdom United States of America Uruguay
  • Viet Nam
  • Zambia

Note: The geographical designations do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the secretariat concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

Last update date: March 17, 2021