Skip to main content

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration


Gender Responsive Standards Declaration
The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.
The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 
Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of May 2022
Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found
Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Member States SDOs
Albania - General Directorate of Standardization Georgia - Georgian National Agency for Standards and Metrology Moldova - Institute for Standardization of Moldova Switzerland - Swiss Association for Standardization
Argentina - Instituto Argentino de Normalización y Certificación Germany - DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE Morocco - Institut Marocain de Normalisation Thailand - Thai Industrial Standards Institute
Austria - Austrian Standards International Germany - Deutsches Institut für Normung Mozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e Qualidade Togo - Agence Togolaise de Normalisation
Benin - Agence nationale de  Normalisation, de Métrologie et du Contrôle Qualité Honduras - Organismo Hondureño de Normalización Netherlands - Netherlands Standardization Institute Trinidad and Tobago - Bureau of Standards
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y Calidad Iceland - Icelandic Standards New Zealand - New Zealand Standards Organisation Turkey - Türk Standardlari Enstitüsü
and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia
and Herzegovina
India - Bureau of Indian Standards New Zealand -New Zealand IEC National Committee United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards Institution
Botswana - Botswana Bureau of Standards Ireland - National Standards Authority of Ireland Norway - Standards Norway Uruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas Técnicas
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT) Israel - Standards Institute of Israel Papua New Guinea - National Institute of Standards and Industrial Technology  
Canada - Standards Council of Canada Italy - Comitato Elettrotecnico Italiano Peru - Instituto Nacional de Calidad (INACAL)  
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y Certificación Italy - Ente Italiano di Normazione Portugal - Instituto Português da Qualidade  
Congo - Office Congolais de Contrôle Latvia - Latvian Standard Rwanda Standards Board  
Costa Rica - Instituto de Normas Técnicas Lithuania - Lithuanian Standards Board Saint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of Standard  
Cyprus - Organisation for Standardisation Luxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et services Saint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of Standards  
Denmark - Danish Standards Madagascar - Bureau des Normes de Madagascar Senegal - Association Sénégalaise de Normalisation  
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la Calidad Mali - Agence Malienne de Normalisation et de Promotion de la Qualité Serbia - Institute for Standardization of Serbia  
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de Normalización Malta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority South Africa - South African Bureau of Standards  
France - Association Française de Normalisation (AFNOR) Mauritius - Mauritius Standards Bureau Spain - Asociación Española de Normalización  
Gambia - The Gambia Standards Bureau Mexico - Dirección General de Normas Sweden - Swedish Institute for Standards  
International and regional SDOs
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
ASTM International
European Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
African Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Comisión Panamericana de Normas Técnicas (COPANT)   [Declaration]
Fairtrade International
Rainforest Alliance
Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Round Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
The Gold Standard
The Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
Women Organizing for Change in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management (WOCAN)
Last update date: August 29, 2022