

Special event marking the

30th anniversary of the Water Convention

Thursday, 30 June 2022 | 9:30-17:30 | Tallinn Creative Hub (Estonia) and online

Wednesday,	29 June 2022 Venue: Seaplane Harbour
19:30	Anniversary Dinner Reception
Thursday, 30	
Time	Session
10:30-12:30	Setting the stage: 30 years of transboundary water cooperation
	Opening and Welcome
	Mr. Meelis Münt, Secretary General of the Ministry of the Environment, Estonia
	 Ms. Jaana Husu-Kallio, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Finland Mr. Dmitry Mariyasin, Deputy Executive Secretary, UNECE
	Moderator: Mr. Johannes Tralla, Estonian National Broadcasting journalist
	Thirty and thriving – A small tale of the Water Convention The "tale" of the Convention told by previous Chairs of the Meeting of the Parties to the Water Convention.
	 Ms. Lea Kauppi (Finland - 1998-2000) Mr. Carel de Villeneuve (Netherlands - 2001-2003) Ms. Heide Jekel (Germany - 2007-2009) Ms. Sibylle Vermont (Switzerland - 2010-2012) Mr. Massimo Cozzone (Italy - 2013-2015) Mr. Peter Kovacs (Hungary - 2016-2018) Mr. Arsen Zhakanbayev (Kazakhstan - 2019-2021)
	Moderator: Mr. Johannes Tralla, Estonian National Broadcasting
	Launch of the anniversary publication "The Water Convention: 30 years of impact and achievements on the ground"
	Ms. Sonja Koeppel and Ms. Iulia Trombitcaia, Water Convention Secretariat
	Looking back: A wealth of experience - three decades of successful implementation of the Water Convention
	Panel 1: Improving water management: Economic, social and environmental benefits through the implementation of the Water Convention (10:30 – 11:30)
	 Ms. Anne-Marie Reckinger, Water Management Agency, Luxemburg Ms. Bernadette Araba Adjei, Water Resources Commission, Ghana Ms. Ulrika Blomberg, Agency for Marine and Water Management, Sweden Mr. Teodoro Estrela, Ministry for the Ecological Transition and the
	Demographic Challenge, Spain • Mr. Ivan Zavadsky, International Commission for the Protection of the Danube River (ICPDR)
	Moderator: Mr. Johannes Tralla, Estonian National Broadcasting
	Questions & Answers



	Panel 2: Enhancing trust: Regional integration, peace and stability generated through the implementation of the Water Convention (11:30 – 12:30)
	 Ms. Gerta Lubonja, Water Resources Management Agency, Albania Ms. Farida Alakbarova, Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources, Azerbaijan
	Ms. Helge Elisabeth Zeitler, DG Environment, European Commission
	Mr. Hilario Sanha, Ministry of Energy, Industry and Natural Resources, Guinea-Bissau
	 Mr. Nassour Saleh Terda, Ministry of Urban and Rural Water Management, Chad
	Ms. Dinara Ziganshina, Interstate Commission for Water Coordination in Central Asia, and Vice Chair of the Implementation Committee under the Water Convention
	Mr. Anders Jagerskog, World Bank
	Mr. Taylor Henshaw, Global Environment Facility (GEF) (1tbc)
	Moderator: Mr. Johannes Tralla, Estonian National Broadcasting
12:30-14:30	Questions & Answers Lunch break
14:30-15:30	Looking forward: What comes next for the Water Convention?
	 Mr. Harry Liiv, Chair of the Bureau of the Water Convention, Estonia Mr. Aleš Bizjak, Vice-Chair of the Bureau of the Water Convention, Slovenia Mr. Niokhor Ndour, Ministry of Water and Sanitation, Senegal H.E. Mr. Suleiman Hussaini Adamu, Federal Minister of Water Resources of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (video message) Mr. Domingo Melenciano, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic Mr. Abou Amani, Intergovernmental Hydrological Programme, UNESCO Ms. Yumiko Yasuda, Global Water Partnership (GWP) Moderator: Mr. Antti Rautavaara, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Finland
	Questions & Answers
15:30-16:45	Looking forward: Future labs & coffee In small groups, participants will engage in a conversation on their visions for the future of the Water Convention.
	Moderator: Ms. Elise Zerrath, Water Convention Secretariat
16:45-17:15	Take-aways: 30 years of the Water Convention: learning from the past, building the future
	Summary and take-aways from the interactive group discussions Madarator: Ms. Sonia Kooppel, Water Convention Secretariat
17.15.17.00	Moderator: Ms. Sonja Koeppel, Water Convention Secretariat
17:15-17:30	Closing session
	 Mr. Meelis Münt, Secretary General of the Ministry of the Environment, Estonia
	 Ms. Francesca Bernardini, Chief of the Transboundary Cooperation Section, UNECE
	Moderator: Mr. Johannes Tralla, Estonian National Broadcasting
	ailable at https://unece.org/WaterConvention30vears

More details available at https://unece.org/WaterConvention30years