Economic Commission for Europe

Meeting of the Parties to the Convention on Access to Information, Public Participation in Decision-making and Access to Justice in Environmental Matters

Task Force on Access to Justice

Fourteenth meeting Geneva, 27-28 April 2022 Item 1 of the provisional agenda Opening and adoption of the agenda

Provisional list of speakers for the fourteenth meeting¹

To be held in Tempus 3, Palais des Nations, Geneva starting at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, 27 April 2022

v. 25 April 2022

1. Opening and adoption of the agenda²

Timing: Wednesday, 27 April, 3–3.10 p.m.

Mr. Luc Lavrysen, Chair of the Task Force

2. Thematic focus:

(a) Access to justice in cases related to spatial planning

Timing: Wednesday, 27 April, 3.10-5 p.m.

Ms. Nato Macharashvili, Acting Head, Legal Support Division, Ministry of Environmental Protection and Agriculture, Georgia (presentation online)

Ms. Tina Janjatovic, Senior Legal Adviser, Ministry of Environmental Protection (presentation online)

Ms. Chloe Galea, Senior Officer, Legal Affairs, Environment and Resources Authorities, Malta (presentation in-person)

Mr. Faustino Gudin, Professor, University Alcala de Henares, and Judge (presentation inperson)

Ms. Natasha Dokovska, Journalists for Human Rights (presentation in-person)

Ms. Alison Hough, European ECO Forum (statement online)

(b) Access to justice in energy-related cases

Timing: Wednesday, 27 April, 5–6 p.m. and Thursday, 28 April, 10–11 a.m.

Ms. Mari Chakryan, Advisor, Ministry of Environment, Armenia (presentation in-person)

Ms. Lorena Çabej, Seconded Judge, Supreme Court of Albania (presentation in-person)

Ms. Ksenija Dimec, County Court of Rijeka, Croatia (presentation in-person)

Mr. Pierre-Louis Lefever, Head, General Environmental Law Office, Ministry of Ecological Transition, France (presentation in-person)

Ms. Christiana Mauro, Guta Environmental Law Association (presentation in-person)

¹ The document was not formally edited.

² All documents are made available at https://unece.org/environmental-policy/events/fourteenth-meeting-task-force-access-justice-under-aarhus-convention.

Ms. Priska Lueger, Oekobuero and Justice and Environment (presentation online)

3. Stocktaking of recent and upcoming developments

Timing: Thursday, 28 April, 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Mr. Hristo Stoev, State Expert, Ministry of Environment and Water (presentation online)

Ms. Nathalie Sabbagh, Principal, Ministry of Environment, Denmark (presentation in-person)

Mr. Adam Daniel Nagy, European Commission (presentation in-person)

Mr. Luka Djordjevic, Environmental Law Clinic (presentation online)

Mr. Sebastian Bechtel, ClientEarth (presentation online)

Ms. Attracta Ui Bhroin, Irish Environmental Network (statement online)

Ms. Carol Day, Solicitor, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (statement online)

Ms. Natasha Dokovska, Journalists for Human Rights (statement in-person)

Ms. Ruzanna Ghazaryan, Dalma-Sona Cultural-Educational, Social-Environmental Fund (statement in-person)

4. Tools to promote effective access to justice

Timing: Thursday, 28 April, 3 p.m. – 5.45 p.m.

Introduction: Mr. Adam Daniel Nagy, European Commission (presentation in-person)

(a) dissemination of information on access to review procedures, collection of relevant data and statistics and access to relevant case law using e-justice initiatives, modern digital technologies and other tools

Mr. Firuz Boboev, Deputy Head, Department of Legal information and Systematization, National Centre of Legislation under the President of the Republic of Tajikistan (presentation online)

Mr. Frederik Hafen, European Environmental Bureau (presentation in-person)

(b) specialization of judiciary and other legal professionals in environmental law

Ms. Vedalini Bhadain, Chairperson, Environment and Land Use Tribunal, Mauritius (presentation in-person)

Ms. Marianna Bolshakova, Regional Coordinator, Environmental Law and Governance United Nations Environment Programme (statement in-person)

Ms. Anahit Manasyan, member, Commission on Evaluation of the Performance of Judges in Armenia (statement in-person)

Ms. Malgorzata Kwiedacz-Palosz, ClientEarth (presentation online)

Mr. Arthur Vakhitov, Ecoforum of Uzbekistan (statement in-person)

(c) measures to discourage strategic lawsuits against public participation (SLAPP)

Mr. Csaba Kiss, Justice & Environment (presentation in-person)

Ms. Pauline McHenry, Oakleaf Solutions (statement online)

Ms. Magdolna Toth Nagy, Guta Environmental Law Association (statement online)

5. Other business

Timing: Thursday, 28 April, 5.45-5.50 p.m.

6. Closing

Timing: Thursday, 28 April, 5.50-6 p.m.

Mr. Luc Lavrysen, Chair of the Task Force