

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee Attn. Ms Fiona Marshall Secretary to the Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee UN Economic Commission for Europe Environment Division

Via e-mail only

P.O. Box 20061 2500 EB The Hague The Netherlands www.minbuza.nl

Contact N. van Rijssen

T +31-70 348 4274

Our reference

Min-BuZa.2021.8495-58

Date 30 April 2021 Re Ref. Communication ACCC/C/2020/181

Dear Ms Marshall,

Further to your letter of 4 December 2020 regarding compliance by the Netherlands with the provisions of the Aarhus Convention with respect to public participation in decision-making on wind farms, I have the honour to provide the Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee herewith the requested statement concerning communication ACCC/C/2020/181, as contained in the Annex together with its Appendices.

With this statement I hope to have sufficiently clarified the incorporation of the relevant provisions of the Convention into domestic law and the application of those provisions in connection with public participation in decision-making on wind farms located in the province of Utrecht in particular.

Yours sincerely,

René Lefeber Legal Adviser