Skip to main content

Gender Responsive Standards Declaration


Gender Responsive Standards Declaration
The declaration is the result of the Gender Responsive Standards Initiative work that started in 2016.
The opening of the Declaration for signature event took place at the Palais des Nations on May 14, 2019. The event was broadcast live on UN TV and actively promoted in Twitter and Facebook. 
Standards Bodies interested in becoming signatories, or simply seeking further information on the Declaration or the developments of the Gender-Responsive Standards Initiative, are invited to contact the Working Party on Regulatory Cooperation and Standardization Policies (WP.6).

Declaration for "Gender Responsive Standards and
Standards Development"


Complete list of standards organizations having signed the Declaration as of 11 November 2021
Link to a dedicated UNECE YouTube Channel where all videos shared by standards organizations can be found
Please find below links to the pictures and videos shared by standards organizations upon signing the Declaration 

Member States SDOs
Albania - General Directorate of Standardization Georgia - Georgian National Agency for Standards and Metrology Mexico - Dirección General de Normas Spain - Asociación Española de Normalización
Argentina - Instituto Argentino de Normalización y Certificación Germany - DKE Deutsche Kommission Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik in DIN und VDE Moldova - Institute for Standardization of Moldova Sweden - Swedish Institute for Standards
Austria - Austrian Standards International Germany - Deutsches Institut für Normung Morocco - Institut Marocain de Normalisation Switzerland - Swiss Association for Standardization
Bolivia - Instituto Boliviano de Normalización y Calidad Honduras - Organismo Hondureño de Normalización Mozambique - Instituto Nacional de Normalização e Qualidade Thailand - Thai Industrial Standards Institute
and Herzegovina - Institute for Standardization of Bosnia
and Herzegovina
Iceland - Icelandic Standards Netherlands - Netherlands Standardization Institute Togo - Agence Togolaise de Normalisation
Botswana - Botswana Bureau of Standards India - Bureau of Indian Standards New Zealand - New Zealand Standards Organisation Trinidad and Tobago - Bureau of Standards
Brazil - Associação Brasileira de Normas Técnicas (ABNT) Ireland - National Standards Authority of Ireland New Zealand -New Zealand IEC National Committee Turkey - Türk Standardlari Enstitüsü
Canada - Standards Council of Canada Israel - Standards Institute of Israel Norway - Standards Norway United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - British Standards Institution
Colombia - Instituto Colombiano de Normas Técnicas y Certificación Italy - Comitato Elettrotecnico Italiano Papua New Guinea - National Institute of Standards and Industrial Technology Uruguay - Instituto Uruguayo de Normas Técnicas
Congo - Office Congolais de Contrôle Italy - Ente Italiano di Normazione Peru - Instituto Nacional de Calidad (INACAL)  
Costa Rica - Instituto de Normas Técnicas Latvia - Latvian Standard Portugal - Instituto Português da Qualidade  
Cyprus - Organisation for Standardisation Lithuania - Lithuanian Standards Board Rwanda Standards Board  
Denmark - Danish Standards Luxembourg - Institut Luxembourgeois de la Normalisation, de l'Accréditation, de la Sécurité et qualité des produits et services Saint Kitts and Nevis - Saint Kitts and Nevis Bureau of Standard  
Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano para la Calidad Madagascar - Bureau des Normes de Madagascar Saint Lucia - Saint Lucia Bureau of Standards  
Ecuador - Servicio Ecuatoriano de Normalización Mali - Agence Malienne de Normalisation et de Promotion de la Qualité Senegal - Association Sénégalaise de Normalisation  
France - Association Française de Normalisation (AFNOR) Malta - Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority Serbia - Institute for Standardization of Serbia  
Gambia - The Gambia Standards Bureau Mauritius - Mauritius Standards Bureau South Africa - South African Bureau of Standards  
International and regional SDOs
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
ASTM International
European Committee for Standardization (CEN) & European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC)
African Organisation for Standardisation (ARSO)
Fairtrade International
Rainforest Alliance
Responsible Jewellery Council (RJC)
Round Table on Responsible Soy Association (RTRS)
The Gold Standard
The Standards and Metrology Institute for the Islamic Countries (SMIIC)
Women Organizing for Change in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management (WOCAN)