Draft decision on guiding principles for financial assistance

The Conference of the Parties,

Decides that selected countries of Eastern Europe (Belarus, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine), South-Eastern Europe (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), the Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia) and Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan) are eligible to receive financial assistance to support the participation of their experts and representatives in activities organized within the framework of the Conference of the Parties and under the Assistance Programme, as follows:

- (a) To support the participation of experts and representatives from Eastern and South-Eastern Europe and the Caucasus, the secretariat will provide participants with financial support to help them cover the expenses related to their participation, including travel and accommodation;
- (b) To support the participation of experts and representatives from Central Asia, the secretariat will provide participants with financial support and air tickets to help them cover the expenses related to their participation, including accommodation.